The Sonic Detritus of Wind Farming

Two major issues inevitably arise in any discussion of the viability fo wind-farms as signifciant sources of renewable energy. The first is the issue of their aesthetic impact upon the landscape. This issue was the impetus for a recent campaign lead by ex All-Black Anton Oliver and others to halt plans for large-scale wind farms in Central Otago.

The second issue is the sonic impact of wind farms. They are notoriously loud. I wasn’t aware of how loud until I saw this video and it made me rethink my position about wind-farms.

I actually like the sight of sleek, modern windmills dotted throughout scenic landscapes. But I wouldn’t be so keen on them if I were forced to deal with this kind of noise. But then, we’re going to have to make some sacrifices somewhere if we are to make a significant switch to renewable energy sources, so where will these sacrifices come?

Leave a Reply

